14 comments on “Installing XBMC/Kodi on RaspberryPi

  1. Pingback: Basic XBMC Settings | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  2. Pingback: Adding a XBMC tab in EmulationStation | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  3. When I enter:

    sudo apt-key adv –keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com –recv-key 5243CDED

    It returns “gpg: conflicting commands”

    When I ignore this and continue, there are a bunch of 404 errors with sudo apt-get update.

    • Hi Colin,

      I haven’t run into this error before. if you go to ‘/etc/apt/sources.list.d‘ what files do you have in there? I have only three files: collabora.list, mene.list, and raspi.list. Also what do you have in the file ‘mene.list’? You should only have ‘deb http://archive.mene.za.net/raspbian wheezy contrib’ in that file.

      If that all looks good then try running the command ‘sudo apt-key adv –keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com –recv-key 5243CDED‘ again. Note that there are two dashes for keyserver and recv-key.

      Let me know if this works or not and I can further try to help!

  4. Hi Colin, I have the same problem and it returns:

    sudo apt-key adv -keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com -recv-key 5243CDED

    Executing: gpg –ignore-time-conflict –no-options –no-default-keyring –secret-keyring /tmp/tmp.8YN5sEiM7G –trustdb-name /etc/apt//trustdb.gpg –keyring /etc/apt/trusted.gpg –primary-keyring /etc/apt/trusted.gpg -keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com -recv-key 5243CDED
    gpg: conflicting commands

  5. Hi there,

    Linux noob here. 🙂
    I managed to install everything as listed above but whenever I tried to run xbmc (sudo xbmc -fs), I get the message “sudo: xbmc: command not found”.

    I guess I must have done something wrong obviously. 🙂

    I’m installing it on the new Pi2 and the newest beta version of RetroPie (2.5.0)

    Please enlighten me, thanks. 🙂

    • Hi Alex i think i can help! Try “sudo kodi” i herd that they updated the name of xbmc so the launching command changed as well. I am in the process of setting up a new pi so when i do i will update my post!

      Please let me know if that did the job!

      • Thanks!! That did work.
        Simple thing can make a man’s life harder lol

        Then I suppose the “xbmc.sh” in your other post would have to be changed as well. Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

