35 comments on “Setting up GameBoy Advance for RetroPie

  1. Pingback: Mapping Controllers (1 of 3): For EmulationStation | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  2. Pingback: Mapping Controllers (2 of 3): Mapping Controllers to a File | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  3. Pingback: Mapping Controllers (3 of 3): Setting up Controllers in RetroArch | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  4. Pingback: RetroPie: Adding game roms, BIOS files, and enabling save states | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  5. Pingback: Adding an Apps tab in EmulationStation | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  6. Pingback: Auto detecting controllers in RetroPie 2.0+ | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  7. Pingback: Setting up PlayStation for RetroPie | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  8. Pingback: Creating power logs for EmulationStation (1 of 2) | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  9. Pingback: Creating power logs for EmulationStation (2 of 2) | ➟ Weekend Engineer

  10. Your previous post didn’t explain how to put the .bin file in the folder on retropie. I have 6 Roms loaded, ready to play. I can see GBA in the emulation station. When I click on a game I get a message about needing the bios file. I have the correct bios file in the same folder as the games on my USB stick. The games auto copied, the .bin file apparently didn’t. I am very new to the Pi and Linux. How do I get the .bin file from my USB stick onto the pie?

    • Hey yeah i think i can help! If you go into the folder where your bios file is with the “cd” function in terminal you can then copy the file with “sudo cp gba_bios.bin /home/pi/RetroPie/BIOS” it should automatically link it to the needed folder…if not let me know and i can try to help more!!

  11. This totally works! It would be cool if you could make this into a pull request for the real project (definitely if the gba*.bin is freely distributable)

  12. Hey there!
    I love your blog, it’s one pf my pilars at time of configuring Retropie.
    I have only one doubt, and is that the RetroPie wiki says that the BIOS of GBA goes in /home/pi/RetroPie/BIOS, and you say it goes in /opt/retropie/emulators/gpsp/raspberrypi… so, what should I do? The info I get it from here https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Game-Boy-Advance.

    Sorry about my english, I’m from Argentina, and thanks again for your amazing blog!

    • Hey glad i could help! 🙂 Yeah sadly I haven’t had time to do an update. You are correct that it goes in /home/pi/RetroPie/BIOS, the new versions link it to /opt/retropie/emulators/gpsp/raspberrypi and this is just to have all the BIOS files for the systems in the same folder. Don’t forget to change the default emulator by pressing “x” when you boot a game to “gpsp”!

      • GBA BIOS (J) (fastbook hack).bin
        GBA BIOS (J) (TS2 version).bin
        GBA BIOS (J).bin
        GBA BIOS from NDS (Rev 2 Firmware).bin
        Gba.bin

        The only site so far I thought I found it put loads of crap on my pc.

        I did try one game and it’s there. But doesn’t load up. Just returns back to the menu.

  13. “./retropie_setup.sh” says I don’t have enough memory to do this action (but says I can continue), how do I access the SD card I gave it to give it more memory to do this?

  14. Hello,
    I’m in the process of building Adafruit’s Pigrrl Zero.
    I’ve been trying out a few emulators, and so far so good. However, when I attempt to use any of the gameboy emulators (gpsp and lr-gpsp), I run into problems
    When using lr-gpsp, after selecting the rom, it gives me a few lines of code, and brings me back to the retropie menu
    When using gpsp, after selecting the rom, the screen goes black and I get no response from any actions.
    I have put the gba_bios.bin in the BIOS folder and made sure the shortcut in the gpsp folder is correct, and I changed the permissions on the shortcut and the emulator itself, but no luck

    Any help would be greatly appreciated, as this is the main reason I’m doing the build.

  15. Hey i cannot load up a classic nes series game with the retropie. All other roms for GBA work fine. Is their a solution to it?

Leave a Reply

